Thanks to the generosity of our Hawaiian donors, we were able to provide four travel fellowships for middle school and high school teachers from Hawaii who are interested in teaching contemporary China.

$1200 was provided for each fellowship.


  • Applicant is a middle or high school teachers currently teaching at a public, parochial, or independent school in Hawaii at the 7th‐12th grade level.
  • Applicant has been teaching or intend to teach modern China in his/her school.
  • Applicant teaches subjects such as World History, Asian Studies, Social Studies, Mandarin or other Asian Languages, or other relevant areas.

How to Apply:

  • Fill out the 2015 Teachers Workshop Application.
  • Send an e‐mail to with the subject line “2015 Workshop Fellowship” to alert us about the request and to provide any additional reasons, not already specified in the application, on why applicant should receive the fellowship.
  • Have the head of applicant’s school or another senior administrator write an e‐mail to the 1990 Institute endorsing the application.

Obligations in Receiving the Fellowship:

  • Attend all sessions of the Workshop on both days.
  • Submit at least one lesson plan to our 2015 Lesson Plan Contest, based on the rules specified in the Contest and by the September 30, 2015 submission deadline.


How the Fellowship Was Administered:

  • Fellowship recipients made their own travel arrangements such as air transportation, hotels, ground transfers and meals (note: continental breakfast and lunch were provided by the Workshop).
  • The 1990 Institute provided assistance on information about the Bay Area and recommendations for nearby hotels, etc., but were not responsible for travel arrangements made by the fellow(s).
  • The $1200 Fellowship Grants were given out on August 4, 2015, the second day of the Workshop. (Note that fellows did not receive the $200-$300 stipend that was given to teachers from the continental U.S.)
2015 Teachers Workshop Hawaiian Fellowship Recipients
2015 Teachers Workshop Hawaiian Fellowship Recipients